Great encouraging news 

So I’m writing this on my phone, but I wanted to get the news out.  Plus I’m on Xanax and I’m waaaayyyyyy too lazy to get my laptop out which is two feet away from me. (I’m listening to my therapist on the Xanax.  Aren’t you proud of me?)

So today I asked about the pill Xeloda.  The colon cancer online board had a lot of people talking about it. So I was curious why my dr chose a different regamine.  The scientist in me came out.   I know she had a great reason.  I was just very curious.  I was also curious why they chose to not do surgery on me.   I also admitted that I wanted to start stretching out treatments as they recommended last week (therapist should be proud).  So here’s what happened. 

1. She likes 5-fu in FOLFIRI because she sees those patients every other week and helps her monitor those she’s concerned about.  But she had no problem switching me over.  With this drug I wouldn’t need to have the 5-fu pump that I HATE HATE HATE!   By the way. I hate that pump being attached non stop for two days.  It does the same thing.  Has something called hand-foot side effect where the hands and feet can become very sensitive. But other than that it is very similar to the stuff I’m currently on. 

2. Apparently it’s very risky to do surgery when there’s masses in different place. Where mine are, are apparently very rough surgery. So if they took out one mass I wouldn’t be treating the others.  Makes sense to me.  

3. They agree it would be best to help my sense of living.  They commented again about how good I have been doing.  Heck today is #16 treato for me!  Every other week.  No missing of weeks yet.  They think it would be good to give me a breather so I have some extra time to enjoy life. 

So here’s the plan. I have a CT scan in the next three weeks.  I don’t do my treatment in two weeks.  In four weeks we review my CT results and hopefully start on Xeloda and then only do treatments every three weeks. This gives me more time in between treatments which means I have more time to have fun. Plus I won’t have a hermit weekend bc of the pump every three weeks.  And if this doesn’t work, we change back. Very very little risk and all the potential for gain.  I’m so excited that this weekend might be my last time on this horrid pump!!!!

Leave a Reply

