Pride and Proud

I am proud of myself.  Yes I am tooting my own horn.  I joined a cancer study at a local large university that is studying the effect on exercise and the return of colon cancer.  As I had hoped, I was placed in the high exercise study.  I am to try and get 300 minutes a week of medium to high cardio exercise.  For the past few months (before the start of this study), I only exercised 30 minutes a week.  Talk about a drastic increase!  Plus I am not the fit svelt I would love to be.  Rather I have at least 100 lbs I wish to lose.

So wanting to go from 30 minutes of exercise to 300 is a pretty drastic change in lifestyle.  This was to be my second week at 300 minutes.  In 5 weeks I went from 30 to 300 (due to me being over zealous and trying to jump to the end goal).  My body is in shock.  My body is screams “stop it you freaking fool!”

Now my life is trying to stop me.  Last week, pretty much all the possible hurdles were in the way.  First I had a surprise major audit for 2 days that ruined my ability to walk at work and my energy to want to do it home after work.  Then the weather make walking outside less then ideal.  Plus my body is a little irate at the change (ie my calves and ankles are sore).

But after a day at a museum with Kiddo and the Knight, the last thing I wanted to do, was get my last 45 minutes of exercise in.   I wanted to curl up on the couch, watch funny youtube videos and veg.  But I went out and walked those blasted 45 minutes.  I got my 300 minutes and had to fight for every single one of them.

My body still says I am a meanie, but well it has to listen.  My spirit is rejoicing at what I have done.  My spirit is seeing that I have won my battle.

So completely contrary to the goal… here is a vodka martini to making my 300 minutes!

walking-fb

Leave a Reply

