In The Beginning

Hello! Greeting!  Salutations!  Welcome to this place of hope and honesty.  Welcome to where I hope to help others going through the same thing as me, while also being honest about the struggles involved.  Mainly though, I hope to provide what I have found useful along the path of chemotherapy.

Let me introduce myself.  I am a single mom of a darling little angel of 8. I am also the person who  got the unfortunate news in April of 2014 that I have colon cancer.  And from there the world went upside down, inside out, and curiously alien.  All sense of immortality left in a 30 second sentence from my colonoscopy doctor.  At 34, this was the last senstence I was expecting to hear.  And that is when I started the horrible path of research.  What did colon resectioning mean?  What are the different stages?  What do the stages mean?

Then I wanted to find advice from those that have been down this path.   The world is full of blogs: happy, sad, angry at the world, on a specific topic.  But when I first got diagnosed with colon cancer, there didn’t seem to be anything helpful.  And as I continue down this path, I find even less helpful information.  I can find statistics on survival rates, expected side effects, encouraging little slogins.  But absolutely nothing that helped me with my next step.  And that is discouraging!  I want to know what others are doing to make things more manageable.  I want to know what little tricks help with the day to day struggles.

So…. I am venturing into the world of blogging.  Hopefully my struggles to find working options for this disease will help someone else with even one thing.  Any little bit of help that I can provide to others will make this worth it in one way or another.

That being said, I am not a doctor.  I provide this disclaimer so that you remember to ALWAYS listen to your doctor and their specific recommendations.  My suggestions are just based on what I have found to work for me.  Each person’s path through chemo is unique to them.  So what works for one, will not work for all.

Now with that disclaimer done with, I hope this provides hope and some good ideas for those going down a similar path.  Remember, there is always hope, no matter what life gives you.

Love and Peace!  And May you have a great day!

Autumn forest sunrise - red, rays, green, colors, forest, trees, gold, sunrise, autumn

Leave a Reply

